The Importance of Rest…

And why we don’t talk about it enough.

Today (26/09/17) I was supposed to be heading out with a few of my blogger friends to a Christmas menu event. I had been looking forward to it all week, but the moment I arrived home from work and sat on my bed, I knew I wouldn’t be moving for the rest of the evening.

It’s not that I couldn’t have forced myself up and arrive in the nick of time, I’ve done this many times before, but something happened to me on Friday which made me change my perspective on my socially active lifestyle. See, I was out with friends at a showcase, and as fun as the evening was, I felt a weird pressure come over me. Within an hour of this feeling rising, I had to leave the room. I was having an anxiety attack.

Do I know what caused it? If I’m honest, I can’t be too sure, but what I am sure about is that it is somewhat linked to how busy I have been keeping myself over the past two months. I chose to work part time at a basic bistro job so I could go back to working freelance, but as I’ve been working hard on blogging, while making time for the gym, my friends, my family and my boyfriend, I have rarely had time for myself. After Friday, I decided this needs to change. I had three days off work to readjust my plans and sort out what I should prioritise, and though I did put tonight’s events on my list of what I would make time for, my hectic shift at work was enough to tell me I needed to relax again. I will admit that the lack of sleep from the night before heavily contributed to this decision.

Why is it so important to stop?

It has been said that you are much more productive at work if you take that lunch break which you are entitled to, and I think this applies to your personal life as well. How do you expect to do all the things you want without frequently stopping to take care of yourself along the way? Listen to your body when you think you may be too tired to do something. Even if you do get serious FOMO, you will benefit from it in the long run!

So, I’m going to finish watching GBBO, run myself a bubble bath, set up Netflix and completely unwind!!!

15 thoughts on “The Importance of Rest…

  1. 😦 Sounds like burn out pal. Even though you’re working part-time, don’t overlook the fact hospitality is a completely draining industry. On your feet all day being nice to tough customers is really challenging physically and mentally. It’s so easy to keep saying yes to things as well, curse of fomo. I hope your anxiety attacks don’t flair up again. Take all the time you need.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! You are so right, this is my first hospitality job in a year as well so getting back in the game has been a struggle. Again, thank you for your kind words!

      Like

  2. I absolutely agree! I’m self employed now which is both amazing & difficult because no one tells me when to stop working & sometimes I will keep going until 10, 11pm meaning I’ve been working over 12 hours! So I know I need to give myself a stopping point to rest & recover…& enjoy life haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

